Our Leaders

Keeping in the Presbyterian tradition, Western is led by:

Western welcomes and seeks diverse representation in its lay leadership. All persons are invited to participate fully, regardless of age, disability, economic or social circumstance, gender, marital status, race or sexual orientation.

If you would like to get in touch with any of our Elders, Deacons, or Committees, please email us at Info@WesternPresbyterian.org.

The Session

Western is governed by the Session, made up of 15 elders who are elected and installed to serve the church for 3-year terms. The Session guides and directs the ministry of Western and makes most spiritual and financial decisions for the church.

Elders, through their demonstrated leadership and maturity of faith, are chosen to represent Western’s diverse needs. Elders are responsible for nurturing the faith and life of the congregation.


Class of 2017

Class of 2018 Class of 2019

Nancy Arbuthnot

Beverly Gyllenhaal Elizabeth Adu

Scott Bellard

Sam Hendrix John Bader

Susie Farr

Todd Trafford

Vivien Kilner

Lorinda Laryea Nicole Wallace
Christian Education
Clerk of Session

Cindy Stevens

Duncan Smith


Rev. Laura Cunningham, Moderator

The Deacons

Deacons help the congregation celebrate joys –baptisms, holidays, and promote church fellowship – and support us in times of need. It is the duty of deacons, first and foremost, to minister to those who are in need, to the sick, the friendless, and to any who may be in distress.

At Western, the Deacons are also charged with providing hospitality in the broadest sense, working to care for, minister to, and nurture our church family.

Deacons, like elders, are elected and installed by the congregation to serve 3-year terms.

Class of 2017

Class of 2018 Class of 2019

Nancy Campbell

Tracy Boswell
John Caswell

Victoria O’Connell

Bob Layton Greta Morris
Nominating Liaison
Carol Petrie
Kathy Hankins Robinson
Vice Moderator

DJ Purnell

Madeline deKock
Hospitality Coordinator
Susan Schumacher
Hospitality Coordinator

Ryan Sweeney


Other Committee Leaders

In addition to our elected church officers, other members lead church ministry teams to manage many of the logistical and leadership challenges that make worship and ministry at Western possible. They are–

Betsy Carter

 Bill Saint

Turhan Robinson

 Jack Hume